Daily Archives: October 30, 2012

Tip: Decison Making Made Easy


 

When you have firm principles, whatever they are, decisions can be made much easier. As managers, we are constantly presented with data that we need to make decisions on. If this-then that scenarios are piled upon our desks daily. Here is a quick way to scan these opportunities and make decisions to at least thin down the pile.

What you need to do is define what your guiding principles are. Usually those principles are developed around your ethics. It’s a safe bet to say that those without high ethical standards will have very few guiding principles that they need to enforce.

I won’t be presumptuous and tell you what your principles should be, but I will provide you with my mission statement as a professional marketing representative. This is my definition of a “sales professional” and I refer to this daily:

A Sales Professional:

  • Is a PEAK PERFORMER who has the abilities and understands the importance to PLAN and PREPARE
  • Understands and acknowledges their RESPONSIBILITIES to their organization and customers,  and can RETAIN their business, while maintaining RESPECT with their clients, companies, and most importantly themselves
  • Takes OWNERSHIP and are ORGANIZED
  • Maintains a FOCUS on their duties and goals  
  • Has a character built on INTEGRITY and they have personal INITIATIVE
  • Has the ability and TRUST to work in a TEAM environment
  • Provides all this to their internal and external customers with the utmost SINCERITY

 

I feel that if I have to compromise any aspect of being a sales professional, I have to violate my core principles.

If a decision is made that will create a level of mistrust, or questionable integrity, then the decision is simple. If I make a decision that does not allow me to focus, or plan & prepare like I should, then its an easy decision.

This mission statement is wrapped around my ethical standards and that is one thing that no one can ever question when dealing with me. I don’t feel bad about decisions, even the ones that may cost me money, if I made those decisions based on the above.

If you are having difficulties with decision making, let’s talk about it with the team at Pinnacle Sales, LLC!  We can work with you and help you determine what the keys to your success are!